Finance Formulas / July 19, 2018 / Alia Marquez
The main thing to understand in managerial accounting is the difference between revenues and profits. Not all revenues result in profits for the company. Many products cost more to make than the revenues they generate. Since the expenses are greater than the revenues, these products great a loss—not a profit.
Contribution margin is the sales price minus total variable costs, where variable costs might include materials, labor or overhead. For example, Company XYZ sells a product for $100 each. The company incurs a unit variable direct material expense of $12, unit variable labor expense of $25, $10 of variable overhead per unit and $8 of fixed overhead per unit.
We Also Think You’ll Like