Finance Formulas / July 19, 2018 / Kenley Hopper
Economic profit includes the opportunity costs a company loses or gains by making a decision to pursue one avenue towards revenue, thus passing by a different opportunity which also might have produced revenue. A firm can have a large accounting profit, but no economic profit.
The total asset turnover ratio calculates net sales as a percentage of assets to show how many sales are generated from each dollar of company assets. For instance, a ratio of .5 means that each dollar of assets generates 50 cents of sales.
Contribution margin is the sales price minus total variable costs, where variable costs might include materials, labor or overhead. For example, Company XYZ sells a product for $100 each. The company incurs a unit variable direct material expense of $12, unit variable labor expense of $25, $10 of variable overhead per unit and $8 of fixed overhead per unit.
The higher the debt ratio, the more leveraged a company is, implying greater financial risk. At the same time, leverage is an important tool that companies use to grow, and many businesses find sustainable uses for debt.
In Case You Missed It